top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Homemade Mama

Homemade Pear Sauce and Pear Syrup

What can you do with 3 lbs of pears? Check this out!

My best friend told me about this amazing treat they make every once in a while at their house and after forgetting to make it a half a dozen times, I finally did it! I made Pear Sauce! This is perfect for us, because Raylen can't have applesauce because it doesn't agree with him (if you catch my drift) but pears are good. It was so easy to make and tastes amazing!! You don't have to add anything at all to it, although you can add spices if you want a little more flavor. (I added cinnamon to mine.) This is also a great recipe to can in your water bath canning system. So, if you are like me and haven't ventured into pressure canning yet, here is a great recipe to try in your water bath! If I can ever find pears on sale, i plan on make a huge batch of this and putting up as many jars as I can.


Check out the video for how I did it and keep reading for the specifics.



Did you know??

Pears are so good for you!! They are high in fiber and a great source of vitamin C, as well as rich in antioxidants. They are known to help fight diabetes, are good for your heart, help you lose weight, and improve digestion! So, I need to start eating pears like yesterday! I didn't realize that pears are actually very cold hardy and are harvested all year long. The pear is traced back to China, but today there are over 300 varieties of pear trees all over the world.


Here is a great resource to learn more about pears and their health benefits: https://draxe.com/pear-nutrition/


The whole process of making pear sauce was relatively simple. I just peeled and cut the pears, cooked them and then strained to make a smooth sauce (if you want a chunky sauce, you don't even have to do this step). I even made a pear butter type thing out of the scraps and it tastes amazing! I think I'm going to use it as a glaze for a pork dish. We shall see.


Anyway, pear sauce is easy, not sure if it is cheaper yet, but there are no artificial ingredients and if that is important to you, then I'd say its worth it! I am still learning more about canning and as I become more confident I will write more about it. But for now, all I have to say about it is that it is fun and I can see myself canning for many years to come!


I hope y'all enjoy this super easy recipe! Let me know how your pear sauce turns out!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page